Home
 
 

What is Taizé?

Taizé Music

Schedule

Pilgrimage to Taizé (France)

Subscribe to our
Mailing List

What is Taizé ?

The ecumenical community of Taizé takes it’s name from the village in France where it was founded. In 1940, a young man by the name of Roger, troubled by the Second World War, settled in Taizé to begin a new religious order. Four central values would guide their lives: forgiveness, simplicity, joy and trust.

Today the community has grown to include about a hundred brothers from 25 different countries and from different Christian backgrounds. Every year they welcome over ten thousand youth from the four corners of the earth. The youth gather in Taizé for different reasons: to meet and share with people from around the world, to find answers to their questions, to find meaning in their lives, to take time to build a relationship with a loving God or to believe in a world where people of all nations, all faiths and all languages can live in peace and harmony.

The young adults pray three times a day with the brothers, attend biblical teachings, participate in small group discussions and eat together. In their spare time, they sing, dance and meet new people. Everyone has the chance to share their story and learn a little more about others in a wide diversity of languages and cultures.

For more information regarding Taizé or Taizé-related activities, consult the Taizé-Ottawa website or visit the community of Taizé’s official site .

Welcome Solidarity Residence Taizé Residence Residence Thursdays

Home
 
 

Ce qu'est Taizé

Prière de Taizé

Déroulement d'une prière

Le silence

Horaires des prières régulières

Pèlerinage à Taizé (France)

Frère Roger

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste de rappel

 

Ce qu'est Taizé

La communauté oecuménique de Taizé prend son nom du village en France près de

Lyon où, en 1940, un jeune homme allemand de 22 ans nommé Roger Schutz, profondément troublé par la 2e Guerre Mondiale, s'installa pour fonder une nouvelle communauté religieuse dont les valeurs centrales seraient l'accueil, la prière et la réconciliation.

Aujourd'hui, la communauté comprend une centaine de frères de 25 pays différents et de religions chrétiennes différentes qui accueillent chaque année des dizaines de milliers de jeunes des cinq continents du monde. Ces jeunes vont à Taizé pour diverses raisons: pour rencontrer et échanger avec des gens du monde entier, pour trouver des réponses à leurs questions, pour trouver un sens à leur vie, pour rencontrer Celui qui nous attend toujours les bras ouverts ou pour croire qu'un monde où les gens vivent en harmonie est possible.

Les jeunes prennent part à la prière communautaire trois fois par jour, suivent des enseignements bibliques, participent à des groupes de réflexions, partagent les repas en commun et se divertissent par le jeu, la musique, la danse et des les rencontres sociales. Chacun a l'occasion de partager son vécu et d'en apprendre sur celui des autres dans une grande diversité de langues et de cultures.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur Taizé ou les activités qui y sont reliées à Ottawa, vous pouvez consulter le site de Taizé-Ottawa ou encore visiter le site officiel de la communauté de Taizé en France.

 

 

Accueil Solidarité La résidence Taizé Taizé La résidence La résidence Les jeudis soirs